I decided to do the blog in English too. The next interview is with Red Young.

Julian Thome was born in 1991, Germany. He's a professional musician since his childhood, however, originally he wanted to be a filmmaker. He is playing on guitar, piano and percussions too. Singer and composer. In his birhtplace (Helmstadt-Bargen) he has a local success. Now he is looking for a numerous gigs at Budapest, so first question is about this:

I:Any experiences of Hungary? 

JT: I don't have any experiences in Hungary. Shame that I never had the time to visit that beautiful country.

I:What were your first successes? 

JT: The first success that I had was probably to stand on my feet, circa 2 years after I was born. No, just kidding. Maybe to sing while playing guitar.

I: Who influenced you in singing, songwriting, and guitar playing?

JT: The first guys who influenced me on singing were Jim Morrison and Eric Burdon. To that time I was 14 years of age. A lot of singers influenced me to date. My songwriting was influenced by my life. But sometimes, I think of different songwriters. The song "Dreams Come True" remembers me of John Lennon's early solo recordings. I don't see myself as one of the modern guitar heroes, I just listen to some guitarist's work and if it's realistic that I can do that, I try on it.

I: Do you remember your first gig? 

JT: Well, my first gig - so to say - was when I was eight years old. I sang a song by the german comedian Jürgen von der Lippe. When I was a bit older I listened to songs from Simon & Garfunkel, but also Sam Cooke. I sang some of their songs with my father on stage, his name is Bernd Thome.

I: Have you got fanatic fans?

JT: I remember a very fanatic fan. But we won't go into that right now.

I:  How would you describe your music?

JT: Well, my first album was a bit of a singer-songwriter style. I'm not a good writer, I think. Sometimes the lyrics just come and go. The second one, "Lung Cancer", was a proof for my voice. During that time I was very angry that's why the album is so aggressive. I'm still angry about many, many things in this world...My recent band does many styles of rock, not the hardcore metal you got on my second album. We do a bit of progressive rock styles and we are using many synths and equalizers. Also we have a big drum set and lots of guitars, so I think there are some other different music styles coming on and on in the next time.

I: Would you tell us about the members of the band?

JT: Well, it's somehow more of a tourband. We don't hang out too much when we have time off. I can say a bit about our bass player, Marius Schörnig. He is a director of photography and brings a lot of ideas to the band's video clips. We haven't done any by now, 'cause we're rehearsing very hard, but as soon as we'll get into the studio we have to shoot some. He's very friendly and got some very nice equipment. I think I can learn a lot from this guy. The other band members I don't know too much.

I: Where are you touring these days?

JT: We have to do a small Germany tour in early 2011. More I don't know. My ex-drummer left a few weeks ago, who was also the manager of the band's tour dates and so I don't know what's going on at the moment. I just finished a poll where the fans had the chance to write me where they want to see me play. We also think of having Ryo Okumoto with us on our Summer tour. He's a legendary keyboard virtuos and is probably best known for playing with Spock's Beard since the 90s. He also joined Eric Burdon & The New Animals for some time. I'm very fascinated of him.

I: A new film is in proccess, called "Life Is Shit". You're the author, director, and the main character in this film. Tell us, about this film. Where it will appear?

JT: We started writing two different stories about what the film is about. The one is about an agent who gets in trouble and the other one is more with dialogues, not too much action. But I think it will go in a very different direction. We also don't know where it will appear, 'cause it's surely not made for the big screen. It has to go to some drama festival. The interesting thing is, there's also a song, called "Life is Shit". We performed that often and most of the crowd liked it very much. I have to release that song in the next time.

I: In what kind of films you appeared?

JT: Well, I began shooting amateur movies a long time ago. Nothing memorable. Maybe a bit interesting. But not of any relevance in the modern day. But I watch some of them regulary and I think "Yeah, I have to make movies again...".

I: You play on guitar, keyboards and drums. When did you get your first musical instrument and what was that?

JT: Maybe when I was 10 years old my father bought a keyboard, the Yamaha PSR-640, a very good keyboard. I used it in 2004 for a film of me, but the first time I learned a piano, keyboard, organ etc. was in 2006, when I was 15 years old. Two years later I began to play guitar, both acoustic and electric. Then I got my second keyboard and now I also own some more acoustic and electric guitars. It was a question of time, when I had to learn drums. I play some more instruments, some lesser known, but with every instrument you can bring more passion into music. You can't just sit on the drums and play along, you must know the songs, you have to feel them and then make your own song out of it. That's why I work with so many musicians. It's very interesting to see which drummer, which guitar- bass- keyboard player reinterprets my songs.

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://rockantblues.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr422554691

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása